Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Taije Silverman

Fisher-Bennett Hall 235

Taije Silverman is the author of Houses Are Fields, a book of poems, with newer poetry forthcoming from journals including The Southern Review and The Sewanee Review. Current work can be found in The Best American Poetry 2017 and  The Best American Poetry 2016, along with Ploughshares, The Gettysburg Review, and The Georgia Review. She is the recipient of a 2017 Pushcart Prize, the 2016 Anne Halley Prize from The Massachusetts Review, a 2011 Fulbright Award, the 2010-11 W.K. Rose Fellowship from Vassar College, and several residencies from the MacDowell Colony and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Her translations of Giovanni Pascoli have appeared in The Nation, the Kenyon Review, New England Review, Agni, Pleiades, Crazyhorse, Modern Poetry in Translation, and elsewhere. Houses Are Fields appeared in Italian translation in 2013 (Le Case Sono Campi, trans. Giorgia Pordenoni, Oedipus Edizioni). She is on the editorial board of Alice James Books, and she previously taught at the University of Bologna, where she was a Fulbright Scholar, and at Emory University, where she was the Creative Writing Fellow. 

Selected Work Available Online


Philtrum (from The Harvard Review)

Take It Everything (from The Missouri Review)

Poem to Keep What I Love (from Poetry Magazine)

Spiritual Evaluation and Grief (from Massachusetts Review)

Cinerem (from Pleiades)

On Joy and Grief, with an essay on the poems by Eleanor Wilner (from Shining Rock)

Renga for Obama (group poem from The Harvard Review)

The Boy with the Bolt (from The Georgia Review



Autumn Journal by Giovanni Pascoli (from The Nation)

Night-Blooming Jasmine by Giovanni Pascoli (from Five Points

In the Fog, Laundresses, Hens, The Ox, Holiday Morning, Lightning, Thunder, Valentino, The Hour in Barga, Fides, by Giovanni Pascoli (from Asymptote)


Media Interviews

Interview with Brooklyn Poets, May, 2013

Interview and reading on The Poetry Show, KUSP Central Coast Public Radio, CA, October, 2009




Poetry and Poetics


Articles and Book Chapters

"Where to Put It" in The Best American Poetry 2017 (2016)