Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Upcoming Graduate Events

September 24, 2021 (Friday)
12:00 PM to 1:30 PM

Grad Lounge, Fisher-Bennett Hall Rm 330

4:00 PM to 5:30 PM

Location: Zoom

Join the Mod/Con and AmLit Graduate Groups for a discussion of Mathias Nilges' new book, How to Read a Moment: The American Novel and the Crisis of the Present. Please email Thomas Collins (...

September 27, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

October 4, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

October 6, 2021 (Wednesday)
12:00 PM to 1:30 PM

Faculty Lounge (FBH 135)

This departmental workshop is designed to provide instructors with the information and resources they need to know in order to lead safe and equitable classrooms. Representatives from CAPS, Student Disability Services, CTL, and GSWS will be present....

firstyears, secondyears, thirdyears, fourthyears, fifthyears, sixthyears, abd 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

October 8, 2021 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

WIPs Sign-up for Wednesday, November 28 Deadline

3:00 PM to 4:30 PM

Location: Zoom

Please email Máyọ̀wá Ajibade (majibade@sas.upenn.edu), Ethan Plaue (plaue@sas.upenn.edu), or Arianna James (...

October 11, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

October 15, 2021 (Friday)
5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

FBH Graduate Lounge

Join the Mod/Con Graduate Group for work-in-progress by Laura McGrath. Please email Thomas Collins (thco@sas.upenn.edu), Jonathan Dick (...

October 18, 2021 (Monday)
4:00 PM to 5:30 PM

Grad Lounge (FBH 330)

This departmental workshop will consider why and how to encourage creative projects—both big and small—in TA sessions and seminars.

Register: ...

5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

October 19, 2021 (Tuesday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

October 20, 2021 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears, thirdyears, fourthyears, fifthyears, sixthyears, abd 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Graduate Lounge (FBH 330)

5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

Location: Zoom

October 22, 2021 (Friday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Dates for written and oral portions of Field Exams should be scheduled. Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10 )...
October 25, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

 https://www.library.upenn.edu/about/exhibits-events/rosenbach2021]

 

October 26, 2021 (Tuesday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

 https://www.library.upenn.edu/about/exhibits-events/rosenbach2021]

 

October 28, 2021 (Thursday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

 https://www.library.upenn.edu/about/exhibits-events/rosenbach2021]

 

November 1, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

November 3, 2021 (Wednesday)
5:15 PM to 6:45 PM

Grad Lounge, Fisher-Bennett Hall Rm 330

November 8, 2021 (Monday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10). Oral portion of Field Exam takes place within 2 weeks of the written...
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

November 10, 2021 (Wednesday)
4:00 PM to 5:30 PM

Outside! (The Tent by Fisher Fine Arts Library)

This departmental workshop will consider why and how to engage the city of Philadelphia through your syllabus, assignments, and class discussions.

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

November 12, 2021 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

November 15, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

November 17, 2021 (Wednesday)
5:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Location: Zoom

Please join us for a talk with Professor Nan Z. Da. Contact Ethan Plaue (plaue@sas.upenn.edu) or Arianna James (aqjames@sas.upenn.edu) for the Zoom link

See...

November 18, 2021 (Thursday)
5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall 401

Join the Mod/Con and Latitudes Graduate Groups for a discussion of Joseph Cleary's new book, Modernism, Empire, World Literature. Please email Thomas Collins (...

November 19, 2021 (Friday)
12:00 PM to 1:30 PM

Graduate Lounge, Fisher-Bennett Hall 330

November 22, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

November 24, 2021 (Wednesday)
fifthyears Faculty and Students 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

November 29, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

December 2, 2021 (Thursday)
5:00 PM to 6:30 PM

Location: Zoom

Join the Mod/Con and ResVic Graduate Groups for a work-in-progress by Jane Hu. Please email Thomas Collins (thco@sas.upenn.edu), Peter Diamond (...

December 6, 2021 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

December 8, 2021 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears, thirdyears, fourthyears, fifthyears, sixthyears, abd 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Graduate Lounge (FBH 330)

January 19, 2022 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

January 24, 2022 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

February 7, 2022 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

February 11, 2022 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

fifthyears (All day)

FBH

Graduate Admissions Committee 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 14, 2022 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

February 15, 2022 (Tuesday)
(All day)

FBH

February 16, 2022 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

50-Book Exam Discussion (12-1pm)

(First Years)

Field Exam List Discussion (1-2pm)

(Second Years)

4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

February 28, 2022 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

March 1, 2022 (Tuesday)
fourthyears (All day)

FBH

March 2, 2022 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: TBD

March 23, 2022 (Wednesday) to March 25, 2022 (Friday)
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Various

March 23, 2022 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

March 25, 2022 (Friday)
abd (All day)

FBH

March 28, 2022 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 6:30 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion, on the 6th floor of Van Pelt Library

April 6, 2022 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

April 12, 2022 (Tuesday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 24, 2022 (Sunday)
fifthyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

April 27, 2022 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: Zoom

August 30, 2022 (Tuesday)
secondyears 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Exams will be held 10-12 PM or 2-4 PM by Zoom.  Information will be sent to you by your 50-Book Chair.

firstyears English Department New student Orientation by Zoom 2:00 PM to 3:30 PM

TBA

September 4, 2022 (Sunday)
(All day)

FBH

September 8, 2022 (Thursday)
5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Log in with Penn Key for location details

October 14, 2022 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

WIPs Sign-up for Wednesday, November 28 Deadline

October 19, 2022 (Wednesday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

October 21, 2022 (Friday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Dates for written and oral portions of Field Exams should be scheduled. Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10 )...
November 8, 2022 (Tuesday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10). Oral portion of Field Exam takes place within 2 weeks of the written...
November 11, 2022 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

November 30, 2022 (Wednesday)
fifthyears Faculty and Students 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge