Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Upcoming Graduate Events

September 24, 2018 (Monday)
12:30 PM to 2:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

Please note that as of 9/21/18, this event has been canceled. 

September 25, 2018 (Tuesday)
6:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge, room 135

Join Mods as we start the new semester with a discussion of Simon During's Exit Capitalism: Literary Culture, Theory and Post-Secular Modernity. Email Devin Daniels at devindan@sas.upenn....

September 26, 2018 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

October 1, 2018 (Monday)
9:30 AM to 12:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

6:30 PM to 7:30 PM

Kelly Writers House

October 3, 2018 (Wednesday)
10:30 AM to 11:30 AM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

October 8, 2018 (Monday)
12:00 PM to 1:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

October 9, 2018 (Tuesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

October 11, 2018 (Thursday)
6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

October 12, 2018 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

WIPs Sign-up for Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Deadline

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Graduate Student Center, 3615 Locust Walk, 2nd Floor Conference Room

Contact e-mail: pennthropocene@gmail.com

October 15, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

October 16, 2018 (Tuesday)
5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

October 18, 2018 (Thursday)
10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

LGBT Center, 3907 Spruce Street

"How Many Lovers Had Shakespeare?" 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

October 19, 2018 (Friday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Dates for written and oral portions of Field Exams should be scheduled. Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018...
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

October 22, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

October 23, 2018 (Tuesday)
Department Lecture and Visit 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

'Code Made Flesh': Sylvia Wynter Oracle is an interactive lecture based on Alexis Pauline Gumbs's forthcoming book Dub: Finding Ceremony. In this work Gumbs explores digital, citational genetic and heretical storytelling as ceremony and praxis...

October 24, 2018 (Wednesday)
6:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

Email Devin Daniels at devindan@sas.upenn.edu or Alex Millen at millen@sas.upenn.edu for the pre-circulated reading.

October 25, 2018 (Thursday)
5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

October 29, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

November 5, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

November 8, 2018 (Thursday) to December 10, 2018 (Monday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018). Oral portion of Field Exam takes place within 2 weeks of the...
November 8, 2018 (Thursday)
6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

November 9, 2018 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Graduate Student Center, 3615 Locust Walk, 2nd Floor Conference Room

Contact e-mail: pennthropocene@gmail.com

November 12, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

November 14, 2018 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

November 15, 2018 (Thursday)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Kelly Writers House

November 19, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

November 26, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

November 28, 2018 (Wednesday)
fifthyears Faculty and Students 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

November 29, 2018 (Thursday)
Author of The Ethnic Avant-Garde: Minority Cultures and World Revolution 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

Co-hosted by Mods, Asian American Studies, and Russian and East European Studies.

December 3, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

December 10, 2018 (Monday)
5:15 PM to 7:00 PM

Class of 1978 Pavilion in the Kislak Center, 6th Floor, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

All are welcome! Those who do not hold University of Pennsylvania ID cards should bring another form of photo identification in order to enter the library building.


FALL 2018 SCHEDULE

Sep. 17: Nicholas Herman (Penn...

December 14, 2018 (Friday)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Graduate Student Center, 3615 Locust Walk, 2nd Floor Conference Room

Contact e-mail: pennthropocene@gmail.com

January 17, 2019 (Thursday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

January 22, 2019 (Tuesday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

January 23, 2019 (Wednesday)
4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

January 24, 2019 (Thursday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

January 30, 2019 (Wednesday)
5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

January 31, 2019 (Thursday)
4:30 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 401

6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 1, 2019 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

SAS Dissertation Research Fellowships Due to Ann Marie Pitts by 12pm

(Students who expect to complete their dissertation in 2019-20 are ineligible)

fifthyears, sixthyears (All day)

FBH

February 8, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

fifthyears (All day)

FBH

Graduate Admissions Committee 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 11, 2019 (Monday)
6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

February 13, 2019 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

50-Book Exam Discussion (12-1pm)

(First Years)

Field Exam List Discussion (1-2pm)

(Second Years)

4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

February 15, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

FBH

February 21, 2019 (Thursday)
Author of Civilizing War: Imperial Politics and the Poetics of National Rupture 5:00 PM to 7:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

February 22, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

TBD

March 1, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears (All day)

FBH

March 13, 2019 (Wednesday)
firstyears (All day)

FBH

4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

March 19, 2019 (Tuesday) to March 21, 2019 (Thursday)
Faculty and Students (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

March 22, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

TBD

Time TBD

March 25, 2019 (Monday)
abd (All day)

FBH

April 3, 2019 (Wednesday)
12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

  • Town Hall to coordinate Department Speaker Series and Graduate Group Coordinators for 2019-20.
4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

April 5, 2019 (Friday) to April 6, 2019 (Saturday)
(All day)

TBD

April 12, 2019 (Friday)
firstyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 19, 2019 (Friday)
thirdyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 24, 2019 (Wednesday)
fifthyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

April 26, 2019 (Friday)
secondyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

August 26, 2019 (Monday)
secondyears 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Faculty Offices

firstyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge (room 135)

5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Graduate Lounge

September 4, 2019 (Wednesday)
(All day)

FBH

September 12, 2019 (Thursday)
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Log in with Penn Key for location details

October 11, 2019 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

WIPs Sign-up for Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Deadline

October 18, 2019 (Friday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Dates for written and oral portions of Field Exams should be scheduled. Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018...
October 19, 2019 (Saturday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

November 8, 2019 (Friday) to December 10, 2019 (Tuesday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018). Oral portion of Field Exam takes place within 2 weeks of the...
November 8, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

November 27, 2019 (Wednesday)
fifthyears Faculty and Students 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge