Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Spring 2023 Undergraduate Award Winners Announced

At the 2022–23 End-of-Year Party, Professor Jean-Christophe Cloutier announced the Department of English Undergraduate Award Winners to students, faculty, and staff assembled in Fisher-Bennett Hall's Judith Rodin Undergraduate English Lounge.

Congratulations to the winners and to all of our graduating English majors and minors!


College Alumni Society Henry Reed Prize, for the best essay written by an undergraduate on the literature of the English Renaissance
Winner: Emma Blum for “’The Pilgrims went up that hill with ease, because they had these two men to lead them up by the arms’: The Collaborative Nature of Faith and Allegory in The Pilgrim’s Progress and The Holy War

Dosoretz Family Prize, for the best essay written by a graduating senior English major
Winner: Erin Brennan for “Inside the Guarded Gates: Motherhood, Caregiving, and Domestic Work in Janice Y. K.Lee’s The Expatriates

Nancy Rafetto Leach Sweeten Prize, for the best undergraduate essay on American literature
Winner: Erin Brennan for “Lost (and Found) in Translation: Misunderstanding and Transnational Collaboration in Ezra Pound’s Cathay

Phillip E. Goldfein Class of 1934 Shakespeare Prize, for the best undergraduate essay on Shakespeare
Winner: Erin Brennan for “Then and Now: Politics and Polychronic Time in Macbeth and Julius Caesar
Honorable Mention: Gabriella Raffetto for “Much Ado About—Virginity! Clashing Temporalities and Gender Roles in the National Theatre’s 2022 Production”

L. Barry Pick Prize, awarded for the best thesis assembled by a student in the English Honors Program
Winners (co-recipients): Sof Sears for “Unseamly Girlhoods: Restitching Shirley Jackson’s Hangsaman With Shelley Jackson’s Patchwork Girl” and Quinn Ahn-Ming Robinson for “’The Experience is Dialect’: Narrative and Resistive Possibilities of Pidgin in All I Asking For Is My Body and Rolling the R’s

Shakespeare Sonnet Prize
Winner: Wes Matthews
Honorable Mentions: Nidhi Bhatt and Natalija Zuza Jevremovic

Rittenberg Prize and Flag Bearer
Winner: Emily Becker

Best Undergraduate Student Service Award
Winner: Navmi Sharma