Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Upcoming Graduate Events

December 11, 2018 (Tuesday)
4:30 PM to 6:30 PM

Please login with your PennKey to view location.

December 13, 2018 (Thursday)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Van Pelt Library, room 623

December 14, 2018 (Friday)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Graduate Student Center, 3615 Locust Walk, 2nd Floor Conference Room

Contact e-mail: pennthropocene@gmail.com

January 23, 2019 (Wednesday)
12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

January 30, 2019 (Wednesday)
5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

February 1, 2019 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

SAS Dissertation Research Fellowships Due to Ann Marie Pitts by 12pm

(Students who expect to complete their dissertation in 2019-20 are ineligible)

fifthyears, sixthyears (All day)

FBH

February 4, 2019 (Monday)
10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330

February 8, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

fifthyears (All day)

FBH

Graduate Admissions Committee 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 11, 2019 (Monday)
6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

February 13, 2019 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

50-Book Exam Discussion (12-1pm)

(First Years)

Field Exam List Discussion (1-2pm)

(Second Years)

4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

February 15, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

FBH

February 21, 2019 (Thursday)
Author of Civilizing War: Imperial Politics and the Poetics of National Rupture 5:00 PM to 7:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge)

February 22, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

TBD

March 1, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears (All day)

FBH

March 12, 2019 (Tuesday)
10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330

March 13, 2019 (Wednesday)
firstyears (All day)

FBH

4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

March 14, 2019 (Thursday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Graduate Lounge) | Time TBD

March 19, 2019 (Tuesday) to March 21, 2019 (Thursday)
Faculty and Students (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

March 20, 2019 (Wednesday)
12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

TBD

March 22, 2019 (Friday)
(All day)

TBD

Time TBD

March 25, 2019 (Monday)
abd (All day)

FBH

April 2, 2019 (Tuesday)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Kelly Writers House, 3805 Locust Walk, dining room

E-mail Knar (knarge@sas.upenn.edu) or Aylin (malcolma@sas.upenn.edu) for more information.

April 3, 2019 (Wednesday)
12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

  • Town Hall to coordinate Department Speaker Series and Graduate Group Coordinators for 2019-20.
4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330 (Grad Lounge)

April 5, 2019 (Friday) to April 6, 2019 (Saturday)
(All day)

TBD

April 8, 2019 (Monday)
10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330

April 12, 2019 (Friday)
firstyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 19, 2019 (Friday)
thirdyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 24, 2019 (Wednesday)
fifthyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 135 (Faculty Lounge)

April 26, 2019 (Friday)
secondyears (All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

April 29, 2019 (Monday)
10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Fisher-Bennett Hall, room 330

August 26, 2019 (Monday)
secondyears 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Faculty Offices

firstyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge (room 135)

5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Graduate Lounge

September 4, 2019 (Wednesday)
(All day)

FBH

September 12, 2019 (Thursday)
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Log in with Penn Key for location details

October 11, 2019 (Friday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

WIPs Sign-up for Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Deadline

October 18, 2019 (Friday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Dates for written and oral portions of Field Exams should be scheduled. Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018...
October 19, 2019 (Saturday)
(All day)

Fisher-Bennett Hall

November 8, 2019 (Friday) to December 10, 2019 (Tuesday)
thirdyears Third Years and Faculty Committees (All day)

FBH

  • Written Field Exams begin no sooner than 2 weeks before Thanksgiving and no later than last day of fall classes (Thursday, November 8- Monday, December 10, 2018). Oral portion of Field Exam takes place within 2 weeks of the...
November 8, 2019 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

November 27, 2019 (Wednesday)
fifthyears Faculty and Students 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 1, 2020 (Saturday)
fifthyears (All day)

FBH

SAS Dissertation Research Fellowships Due to Ann Marie Pitts by 12pm

(Students who expect to complete their dissertation in 2019-20 are ineligible)

fifthyears, sixthyears (All day)

FBH

February 7, 2020 (Friday)
fourthyears, fifthyears (All day)

FBH

fifthyears (All day)

FBH

Graduate Admissions Committee 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

February 12, 2020 (Wednesday)
firstyears, secondyears 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM

Fisher-Bennett Hall Faculty Lounge

50-Book Exam Discussion (12-1pm)

(First Years)

Field Exam List Discussion (1-2pm)

(Second Years)

February 15, 2020 (Saturday)
(All day)

FBH

March 1, 2020 (Sunday)
fourthyears (All day)

FBH