Penn Arts & Sciences Logo



The 2012 London Program's Theater Course meets once per week with instructor Michael Billington for discussion of the previous night's play.  

The semester schedule includes an exciting list of productions, ranging from the Spanish Renaissance through classics of Chekhov and Ibsen to just-released and much-discussed new hits, performed at theaters from the National to the Fringe.  

The full schedule for the semester includes: 

Tuesday, Oct. 2: Caryl Churchill's Love and Information at the Royal Court Theatre

Tuesday, Oct. 9: Chekhov's Three Sisters at the Young Vic

Tuesday, Oct. 16: Tirso de Molina's Damned by Despair at the Olivier, National Theatre

Tuesday, Oct. 23: Ibsen's Hedda Gabler at the Old Vic

Tuesday, Oct. 30: Howard Brenton's 55 Days at the Hampstead Theatre

Tuesday, Nov. 6: break

Tuesday, Nov. 13: Lolita Chakrabarti's Red Velvet at the Tricycle

Tuesday, Nov. 20: Ibsen's Love's Comedy at the Orange Tree, Richmond

Tuesday, Nov. 27: Nick Dear's The Dark Earth and the Light Sky at the Almeida

Tuesday, Dec. 4: Alan Bennett's People at the Lyttelton, National Theatre

Tuesday, Dec. 11: Tom Morton-Smith's Everyday Maps for Everyday Use and Louise Monaghan's Pack at the Finborough



On top of the theater schedule, Penn in London students have the chance to attend regular day trips in and around London.  The Fall 2012 program's schedule of excursions includes: 

Saturday, October 13: Alternative London.  A tour of East London's vibrant street art scene centered on hip Brick Lane and lunch in historic Banglatown.  

Saturday, October 20: Brighton.  A stroll along the beach of this popular Victorian seaside resort, a tour of George IV's extravagant Pavilion, and high tea at one of the beachfront hotels.  

Saturday, November 17: Bath.  Lunch at the 15th-century house where the Sally Lunn bun may have been invented, a visit to the Roman baths, and a walking tour of Jane Austen's life in the city.  

Saturday, December 3: Cambridge.  A tour of the historic colleges, a visit to the Parker Library, and evensong at the spectacular King's College Chapel.